Odisha’s New Chief Minister to Be Announced by the BJP on Saturday

Odisha's New Chief Minister

Odisha’s New Chief Minister to Be Announced by the BJP on Saturday

Odisha's New Chief Minister
RK Talent Show 2024

Bhubaneshwar: The political landscape of Odisha is poised for a significant transformation as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) prepares to announce the name of the next chief minister on Saturday. The decision, which has been the subject of intense speculation and anticipation, will follow a crucial meeting of the 78-member BJP legislature party in the state capital, Bhubaneswar.

Senior BJP tribal MLA Rabinarayan Naik from Kuchinda, Sambalpur district, confirmed on Friday that the state legislature party would convene to finalize the chief ministerial candidate ahead of the BJP government’s swearing-in ceremony scheduled for June 10.

“The parliamentary party is likely to take a call on the new chief minister on Friday, and a formal announcement will be made on Saturday,” Naik stated.

The BJP parliamentary board, recognized as the party’s highest decision-making authority, will deliberate on this critical decision. This body is responsible for key issues, ranging from candidate selection to government formation and the appointment of the chief minister. To ensure a comprehensive decision, the board has consulted all 20 BJP MPs from Odisha.

Among the names being considered for the top position are several prominent figures: former Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, former Union Tribal Affairs Minister Jual Oram, Puri MP Sambit Patra, national vice president and Kendrapara MP Baijayant Panda, and senior leader from western Odisha, Suresh Pujari. Notably, Pujari, who won from the Barajarajnagar assembly constituency, is the only MLA among the contenders.

The swearing-in ceremony promises to be a grand affair, with an estimated attendance of over 30,000 people at Janata Maidan in Bhubaneswar. The state government has mobilized substantial resources for the event, appointing 50 senior officers, including nine Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officers, one Odisha Finance Service (OFS) officer, and 40 other senior Odisha Administrative Service (OAS) officers, to oversee the proceedings.

Highlighting the significance of the event, BJP leader and spokesperson Sajjan Sharma announced that Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah will be in attendance, alongside chief ministers from several National Democratic Alliance (NDA)-ruled states who actively campaigned in the Odisha elections.

The BJP’s victory in the Odisha Assembly elections, securing 78 seats, marks a pivotal moment in the state’s political history. Additionally, two rebels who contested as independents and won have pledged their allegiance to the BJP, increasing the party’s strength to 80 in the 147-member Odisha Assembly.

As Odisha awaits the announcement, the state’s political dynamics are set for a substantial shift. The forthcoming chief minister will not only lead the new government but also shape the future trajectory of Odisha under BJP governance.

Share this article:

Related post

what you need to know

in your inbox every morning