ZPM’s Lalduhoma Takes Oath As New Chief Minister Of Mizoram

ZPM’s Lalduhoma Takes Oath As New Chief Minister Of Mizoram

RK Talent Show 2024

Lalduhoma, the leader of the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), took the oath of office as Mizoram’s new chief minister today. Aizawl’s Raj Bhavan complex will host a ceremony where a number of ZPM leaders will also take an oath of office as ministers.

The ZPM Legislature Party chose Lalduhoma to be its leader and K Sapdanga to be its deputy leader on Tuesday.

According to Eddy Zosangliana, general secretary of ZPM media cell, Lalduhoma and the Val Upa Council, the party’s advisory body, convened on Wednesday to decide how to organize the council of ministers.

Mizoram can have 12 ministers, including the chief minister, with a 40-member assembly.

The ZPM, a political party that was only officially recognized in 2019, won 27 seats in the assembly elections, up from 8 seats in the previous year’s polls.

The Mizo National Front (MNF), led by the outgoing chief minister Zoramthanga, was overthrown by it.

After winning 26 seats in the 2018 elections, the MNF only managed to win 10 this time.

Share this article:

Related post

what you need to know

in your inbox every morning