The new chief minister of Odisha will be Mohan Charan Majhi.

Mohan Charan Majhi

The new chief minister of Odisha will be Mohan Charan Majhi.

Mohan Charan Majhi
RK Talent Show 2024

In a significant political development, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has named Mohan Charan Majhi as the new Chief Minister of Odisha. This announcement was made by senior BJP leader and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on Tuesday, marking a pivotal moment for the state’s political landscape.

Majhi, a seasoned politician and a four-time Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA), is set to lead Odisha as its Chief Minister. At 52 years old, he is recognized as a prominent tribal leader in the coastal state, known for his dynamic leadership and commitment to his constituents.

Rajnath Singh took to the social media platform X to share the news, stating, “Delighted to announce that Shri Mohan Charan Majhi has been elected unanimously as the leader of Odisha BJP Legislature Party. He is a young and dynamic party karyakarta who will take the state forward on the road to progress and prosperity as the new Chief Minister of Odisha. Many congratulations to him.”

Singh also revealed that the new state government would have two Deputy Chief Ministers, Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida. “It has been decided that two Deputy Chief Ministers will be designated to head the new State Government. Shri KV Singh Deo and Smt. Pravati Parida will serve the state as Deputy Chief Ministers. Congratulations to them!” he added in his post.

Following his selection, Mohan Majhi addressed the media, expressing his gratitude and outlining his vision for the future. “The government of the past 24 years has been changed. We will try to fulfill the belief that the people have shown in the BJP for the fulfillment of their dreams and for the development of Odisha. I promise to make Odisha the number one state in the country,” Majhi stated.

Earlier in the day, a crucial meeting of the BJP Legislature Party was convened to elect the new chief minister. The meeting saw the participation of Rajnath Singh and his Cabinet colleague Bhupender Yadav, reflecting the party’s high-level engagement in the state’s leadership transition.

Mohan Charan Majhi’s election victory from the Keonjhar Assembly seat was a decisive one, securing a margin of over 87,000 votes. He triumphed over Biju Janata Dal’s Mina Majhi and Congress candidate Prativa Manjari Naik, showcasing his strong electoral appeal and the trust reposed in him by the voters.

According to BJP sources, the oath-taking ceremony for Majhi and other leaders is scheduled for June 12 at 5 pm. The event is set to be a grand affair, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi expected to arrive in Bhubaneswar at 2.30 pm on Wednesday. From there, he will proceed to Raj Bhavan, underscoring the significance of this political transition.

The ceremony is expected to draw several dignitaries, including Union Ministers and chief ministers from BJP-ruled states, marking the beginning of a new chapter in Odisha’s governance under the leadership of Mohan Charan Majhi.

Share this article:

Related post

what you need to know

in your inbox every morning